Iowa Need-to-know medical records inquiry

C

Chris Hipaa

Jurisdiction
Iowa
Hello and thank you for responding ahead of time.

I work in a nursing home in a smaller town in Iowa. I'm part of the nursing staff which helps coordinate cares, medications, physician appointments, etc for each resident. As a nurse, I have access to all of the dependent residents' medical records in order to properly take care of them.

We have "household coordinators" who are kind of the heads of each hallway of residents, who are responsible for maintaining the dietary staff, the schedule, the daily happenings amidst the residents, etc. They are not nurses, CNA's or have anything to do with nursing cares. However, they are kind of the "boss" of each area, which is where things get a little fuzzy, legally.

Keeping HIPAA in mind, and being in this position they are in, do they have access to each resident's personal medical records? Sometimes I see them looking through resident charts or through medication records, but do they really have legal access to these without any medical background? I am not happy with having a supervisor who isn't even a nurse, so I want to know if this is legal? And if not, am I responsible for reporting this to a state agency? What can I do to advocate for my residents to ensure their right to privacy?

I have been trained in HIPAA from an employment perspective and not hospital perspective, so take it for what it's worth.