Mom -vs- public school

Status
Not open for further replies.

momof_three

I have a 7 year old daughter who attends a public school. I have had issues with her teacher from the second day of school. This teacher is into "healthy" living. I pack a lunchbox for my child and nearly everyday her teacher will go through her lunch and remove items that she feels are "unhealthy" and make her eat the things she has brought in for her own lunch, carrotts, grapes, rice cakes etc... she will also take her drinks as well, and allow her to get one drink from the drinking fountain in the cafeteria. I have spoken with the teacher, principal and the school board and have gotten no where with them. Can she legally do this?

I'm just a registered user like you, but I am also a teacher. I'm shocked by your story! Does the teacher admit doing this, or are the principal and school board taking her word over your daughter's?

I don't know what state you live in, but I believe that districts that receive Title I funds have to have a 'Wellness Policy' in place. The policy covers school lunches and any other food that students can purchase. The policies do not apply to food that students bring for their own consumption.

The only plausible excuse I can imagine has to do with food allergies. If there is a student in your daughter's class that is allergic to peanuts, then perhaps the teacher removes any foods that could cause an allergic reaction. We are, and have to be, very careful in those situations. Have you been informed of any allergy issues in the classroom?

I live in North Carolina and have not been told of any allergy issues. The teacher is just very into health living. The teacher has admitted to taking food away to the principal but uses the excuse of the wellness policy. I have not gotten anywhere with the school board or principal. I am at my wits end as to what is should do.