Alcohol & Drugs: MIP, MIC, Intoxication MIP & Fraudulent Misrepresentation

Status
Not open for further replies.

whoabilly

Coming from: Coeur d' Alene, ID. 19 years old.

Friday night I was out and the bouncer recognized me from school and that the ID I was trying to give him was not me. The cops were right beside him so he pushed me into them. The cop started to give me a sobriety test - he did the finger thing and then stopped. Then asked me how much I drank, first I denied it and then we finally settled on "one 12oz beer" (on the ticket it says I admitted to drinking it) and then I got in trouble for also using my friends ID since I couldn't remember any of her information. I'm supposed to call in on Friday to find out what to do. Should I get a lawyer before then or just stick with a public person they appoint? Do I plead guilty, not guilty? It's my first time ever being in trouble. I'm just really confused and don't know how to handle this. Anyone know what I'll end up having to pay/do?

Show up to court when you are instructed to and request a public defender before making any plea.

This is minor... don't sweat it too much... but depending upon your state laws on the matter you could face a potential suspension of your driver's license due to an alcohol infraction as a minor.

... and before you ask... no, they did not need to do a breathalyzer or blood test. Your admission to drinking the one beer is sufficient.

whoabilly said:
I was thinking of pleading no contest vs. guilty? what way should I roll

Either one of those pleas will result in the same punishment.

You'll still have the conviction, too.

A nolo contendre (no contest) plea amounts to a conviction.

Generally, people use nolo pleas to limit or avoid any financial responsibility in personal injury or death cases.

You'd be better off pleading not guilty and seeing what the prosecutor will do to lower or even dismiss the charge.