LLC in MO for projects in IL

KS Young

Jurisdiction
Missouri
Hi This is the first time I post here and hope I am making sense here.

I have a question about whether to set up an LLC in St Louis, MO.

I am a licensed structural engineer in St Louis, MO, but I have some business over in Chicago, IL. For my job, there will be a time I need to stamp the drawings and takes liability for the work I performed. In order to protect my personal and my family asset in case things turn south, can I set up an LLC in MO to protect any lawsuit may happen in IL?

Thank you very much for everyone's input and appreciate your time in reading this.

Hi This is the first time I post here and hope I am making sense here.

I am a licensed structural engineer in St Louis, MO, but I have some business over in Chicago, IL. For my job, there will be a time I need to stamp the drawings and takes liability for the work I performed. In order to protect my personal and my family asset in case things turn south, can I set up an LLC in MO to protect any lawsuit may happen in IL?

Thank you very much for everyone's input and appreciate your time in reading this.
I'm sure you can.

Having said that, an LLC for a single-person business such as yours, may not give you as much protection as you think. As important (probably more important) is copious amounts of insurance.

An LLC won't protect you, or your assets, from your professional negligence.

You need high limit Professional Liability (Errors and Omissions) Insurance.

You base your liability limits on the value of the highest priced building that you work on and the potential number of lives in the highest priced building. That could be $10,000,000 or $100,000,000.

An LLC won't protect you, or your assets, from your professional negligence.

You need high limit Professional Liability (Errors and Omissions) Insurance.