Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft Lesson learned, please dont add more salt to the wound :(.

rymnd

Jurisdiction
British Columbia
So, i've made a foolish mistake. I dont know what got into me.. but i stole a small ball (probably worth 3$). Anyways this is my first time getting detained, and im traumatized to that point where the thought of stealing sends shivers down my spine.

My question is, does homesense have a retail theft database? and if so, what is it?

Second question is, do you guys advice to pay the civil demand?

Once again, im embarassed and already feeling extremely idiotic for my mistake, please dont mock me :(

PS. No police was involved with the incident. im scared that if i dont pay the civil demand, this will give them reason to puruse with criminal charges

Last edited:
So, i've made a foolish mistake. I dont know what got into me.. but i stole a small ball (probably worth 3$). Anyways this is my first time getting detained, and im traumatized to that point where the thought of stealing sends shivers down my spine.

My question is, does homesense have a retail theft database? and if so, what is it?

Second question is, do you guys advice to pay the civil demand?

Once again, im embarassed and already feeling extremely idiotic for my mistake, please dont mock me :(

Search this site.
Hundreds, maybe thousands of people have asked the same question.
You can read as many answers as you wish.
No one admonishes you, you don't feel judged.

Okay, off you go, search, search, search.

Thousands of answers are right here on our wonderful, FREE site, thanks to our beneficent benefactor, site owner, Law Professor, Michael Wechsler.

Personally I would not pay the demand in this case. It is unlikely you would be pursued, especially if police were not involved. You will get lots of scary letters but their intent is to pressure you into paying because it costs them less to buy a stamp than to take you to court.