is this cheating?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mstacyi

hi, I live in California.

I am a college student in community college. just a few days ago when i went to class to take my exams for a class my instructor yanked my study guides out of my hands as I walked into class. she look at them and saw that one of my study guide is a copy of the actual test that we are taking for that exam. She told me she is going to report me to the dean.

anyway, I took both of the test and stayed after class to talk to her and the dean of the department. She told the dean that I was cheating and taking advantage of the test by looking at it first.

I told the dean and the instructor that I have gotten the test from a former student of her form 2-4 semester ago. however the truth is the test was passed on to me from another student whom is in a study session offer by the school. Apparently the instructor whom teaches the study session gives copies of the actual test to the students in there. And of course almost 1/2 of the class has the same copy. So I thought she didn't mind us (students) having a copy. because other students have pulled there copy out to look at during class time too. So when I had it in my hands I didn't think that she would mind as long as I put it away before we take the test.

Also, I should mention, the instructor, 2 weeks prior to taking the test she always gives us a review whereas she reads us the actually questions and answers to the test in the exact order.

when I received the test from other students, the test was blank and I had to fill in the test and find correct answers to the questions that I wasn't sure of or make it make sense to me. technically, I had only used the test as a study guide and not to cheat while taking the test.