Is There a Medical Defense to a Traffic Violation?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jurisdiction
Texas
I was traveling from Houston to Freeport, TX to visit a friend. I received a speeding ticket from Texas Highway Patrol for going 80mph in a 65mph zone. The officer asked me if I knew how fast I was going. I told him I had no idea.
I am a disabled veteran. I was seriously injured in an IED explosion in Iraq. I received a medical retirement from the Army. I suffer from PTSD, depression, anxiety, and require care from a psychiatrist. I also have back and knee wounds. I had a major back muscle spasm before I was pulled over. My depression and anxiety make it difficult to concentrate, especially when I am in serious pain. I could not pay attention to the speedometer when I was pulled over. I truly do not know how fast I was going... could have been 55mph... it could have been 95mph. I was in another zone. Is this a legal defense?

You won't get anywhere with that argument. You actually make a better case to have your license suspended if you are not able to maintain control of the vehicle at all times.

Do what everyone else does. Pay the fine, take a driver safety course, and slow down.

Is this a legal defense?

No.

But, Texas offers you two easy ways to dispose of the citation.

You can take an online drivers school, which will get the citation dismissed.

You can use that mecanism once every 12 months.

You can ask the court for deferred disposition.

If allowed, you will receive 69-90 unsupervised probation.
You can not receive any citations during the probationary period, and the citation gets dismissed.

The school option is cheaper, but both achieve the same result.

Call the court, or visit their website, to learn exactly how it works with the court which is overseeing the citation.

None of that prevents you from setting the cruise control to 65 mph.

If it does, then you shouldn't be driving.