Investigated at work (government contractor)

berderder

Jurisdiction
Connecticut
Hello,

I was a contractor for a large corporation dealing mostly in government contracts.

I worked in IT and lived 2 blocks from my worksite. I would occasionally go in late between hours of 8-11:30PM if I forgot something or needed to finish up something I couldn't earlier.

I would hang out in the unclassified area to do my work. I have full access to this room. This location is open (via badge access) 24 hours a day. There is a guard post right outside.

Next door to the unclassified rooms are classified/top secret rooms. You need special access, password, badge access to these rooms. No way I could get in.

I recently discovered I was under "Insider Threat" investigation for being in this building late at night. It was a 2 month long investigation that turned up nothing, because I didn't do anything. I didn't steal any data. They checked everything. Someone must have found it odd that I would go in late and reported it. No one approached me even a single time to tell me not to hang out in there at that time of night.

Do you think there could be any long term effects to this investigation? Do you think I am on some government list somewhere?

Do you admit that it does look suspicious? Did you ever report these times to your manager (while you were doing so)?

I do suspect the investigative notes will stay in your personnel file. Don't have a clue whether you will be on a gov't list but it is definitely odd behavior and i would suggest clearing it in the future with your manager by being upfront, even if there is a guard there. They aren't your supervisor....

Do you admit that it does look suspicious? Did you ever report these times to your manager (while you were doing so)?