Interesting issue regarding breached sublease

Status
Not open for further replies.

stepsinsc

I'm a law student working in a different city (Atlanta, GA) over the summer, and I agreed to sublease an apartment for three months from a woman (who is actually the girlfriend of the owner of the apartment - but the owner doesn't speak English too well, and the girlfriend appeared to be like his agent). I was to sublease from May through July. I visited the apartment in March. We never wrote out a detailed sublease, but I assumed things would be the same as what I saw when I visited the place in March. At the time I visited, there was a female roommate who I was told would be there when I was living there. I was fine with that, b/c it was a two bedroom/two bathroom apartment. The place was fully furnished, and cable TV was to be provided. The room I was to have had a queen sized bed. I was also told via email that the roommate was neat, quiet, and hardly ever there (she was an attorney I believe).

When I showed up in May, however, the female roommate had moved out. In her place, and in the bedroom I was supposed to have, was the owner's two elderly Chinese parents who speak no English. A lot of the furnishings were gone (dishes), instead of a queen sized bed there was a single bed (which meant my girlfriend couldn't stay over), and there was no longer cable TV. I feel frivolous complaining of these things, but it was really uncomfortbale - and I'm a guy and can and have lived in some crazy housing situations. But I was not comfortable living with an elderly couple that spoke no English. I couldn't communicate with them, and I wasn't comfortable having people over (which I was explicitly told would be okay). I also just felt like an intruder into their home. They weren't extraordinarily loud, but when they came home at night they would talk loudly in the den outside my bedroom and it made it hard for me to sleep.