I'm in Canada, boyfriend has my car in US

Status
Not open for further replies.

delaney

Hi all,
this is my first time posting a message here. I hope I came to the right thread/room.
I'm originally from southeast asia, currently studying in Canada. My boyfriend is a US citizen by birth. We dated back in 2006 for 6 months when I was still living in the states, but things didn't work out as we wanted. Last year we started the relationship again, and made plans of meeting up in Canada and start anew.
Last February we made a car purchase in United States with the money wired directly from my home country to the car dealership in Virginia. The car was then registered in my boyfriend's name, as he was going to drive it into Canada with his stuff in the car's trunk (he gradually started moving into Canada while waiting for job approval at a Canadian hospital he was applying to). However, in mid July he still didn't receive a word from the hospital which would hire him here in Canada -- meanwhile, his financial situation back in states was starting to deteriorate (he's been out of job since last year). To make things worse, he is bipolar. He had manic attacks, and his condition has been bad since. Currently he's in the brink of foreclosure and bankruptcy, and hasn't been able to think straight to dig himself out of the mess.
As a foreigner in Canada I can't just come into the US any time I want. So, my only hope is that he would drive my car back from the states to Canada to return it to me, so I can register the car in my own name in Alberta.
I would like to ask a couple of questions :