Illustrated Logo Licensing Question.

Status
Not open for further replies.

asiakendrick

I'm an upcoming illustrator. A local sorority has asked me to create a customized "crest/logo" to represent their organization. They are relatively new, having been around for only about 15 years. They want to use the logo for use of promoting, advertising, and possibly reselling on products and apparel. I want to know, am I entitled to receiving royalty payments based from a license agreement created between me and the sorority? Or should I charge a set amount? How would the entire process work? What should I include within the agreement? (Keeping in mind that I would be retaining my copyright of the work).

I'm an upcoming illustrator. A local sorority has asked me to create a customized "crest/logo" to represent their organization. They are relatively new, having been around for only about 15 years. They want to use the logo for use of promoting, advertising, and possibly reselling on products and apparel. I want to know, am I entitled to receiving royalty payments based from a license agreement created between me and the sorority? Or should I charge a set amount? How would the entire process work? What should I include within the agreement? (Keeping in mind that I would be retaining my copyright of the work).
This is a very difficult question to answer.

(1) The deal is whatever you and the sorority that is comissioning the work want it to be. Nobody is "entitled" to anything.