Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft Fired for Stealing Money and Employer is Prosecuting

Status
Not open for further replies.

pointhere

Today I was fired from my employer, a retail giant, for theft. They have evidence on me, and I admitted to, stealing $200 from my cash register. On another occasion after stealing the $200, I stole $100 but they made no mention of this during my firing and I did not mention it either. This is my first time committing a crime of any sort, I have done nothing like this in the past and have never been in trouble with the law aside from a couple speeding tickets.

They fired me, called the police in to the office, and they stated they are going to prosecute me for the $200 that I stole. The police officer's stated that they are going to have a detective look over everything and then get in contact with me. I was pretty scared and emotionally wrought at this point and did not fully understand everything they were telling me. I believe they stated though, that after I am contacted by the detective that I will arrange a time to turn myself in and get out on bail, most likely the same day. However, I also heard one of them mention issuing a warrant when talking to the loss prevention manager. After this I was allowed to leave and go home.

I know that what I did was wrong and, while I did have my reasons at the time, none of them were justified. In the end all this will only serve to hurt my wife and our life together. I admitted to the theft of the $200 and signed a statement explaining myself to the best of my ability, but I have several questions that I am hoping might be answered here.

What am I to expect in the next few days? Will a detective call me or stop by my house and let me know when to appear at court, or will they just show up to arrest me?