Father signed Student Loans in my name without my knowledge. What are my options?

Status
Not open for further replies.

fractalize

Hello Everyone, I just joined these forums in hopes of finding some advice pertaining to my situation. I graduated from college last May, and found out that my father took out student loans in my name in order to pay for my education. These loans are signed in my name, yet I never signed any paperwork approving these loans, and now I have come to find that I currently owe ~$48,000 in past student loans.

Granted, upon this discovery, things have not been good between my father and I. I am currently working a part-time job while looking for a second job/work within my field (graduated with a degree in Psychology). I attempted to get into a graduate program, but have been denied and must wait another year to re-apply. In the meantime, my grace periods have expired and I am now writing checks equivalent to a total of ~$700 a month for these loans--this only leaves me ~$125 of my monthly income to afford a living stipend. There are a total of six loans he has taken out in my name, divided evenly between private and federal loans, and all of them are unsubsidized loans.

I have since quit living independently and been relegated to living in my mother's basement until I am able to rectify this situation in some fashion. My father has refused to help pay for these loans he has opened in my name, but I have completed my degree with this money and cannot simply stop the funds since they have now entered repayment. My question is this: is there any legal recourse I can consider against my father?

You could sue your father.
You could have him charged criminally.
If he's charged criminally, your obligation to repay the debts he obtained in your name will also shift to him.

You're stuck between a rock and a hard place.

Your legal options will only bring more dischord and confusion into your family.

Why not discuss this with dad and mom?