Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft Dumb decision.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fkencyjr

I was shopping at a mall aday ago. I made a first time studid decision to steal some pants. I was caught and booked and arrested. This was my first time doing something like this. I am a honor student at my college. 3.6 gpa. And studying to take the MCAT in the spring. I realize that i made a stupid mistake and i want to know if thier is anyway that i could get out of this without it going on my record.

Facts of the crime: I'm 19yrs. The pants were worth about 250$. I was charged with a misdimeanor theft.

Can i use this to help me out? I never left the store with the merchandise. I used to work a retail store and our manager always told us that the prep must leave the store with the stuff in order for us to arrest him.

Next: I was not read my rights by niether the mall security nor the police department that came and got me. The officer told me that the police department was not arresting me, it was the mall security that was arresting me. Will them not reading me my rights give me a chance to clear this from my record???

First things first. No, you do not need to have left the store to be charged with larceny. Actually it would even be sufficient if you take something from the shelves and you would be stopped only a foot away from the shelf. But since this is not very smart in today's big markets, the point is, once you are behind the register area, your intent to steal becomes relatively obvious.