Alcohol & Drugs: DUI, DWI DUI in Oregon

Status
Not open for further replies.

mac011977

I got a DUI recently in Oregon (Washington County). I had consumed only 1 drink but was on Nyquil for throat congestion in recommended doses throughout that day. I did mention the Nyquil to the cop when he asked me before the sobriety tests.. I felt fine when I drove and remember all the minute details of that event and everything that followed. My record so far
is clean - no traffic tickets, violations, arrests or convictions. I have been driving for almost 18 years with a clean record. THe questions I have:

1. THe officer claims that he stopped me (very early in the morning) because I didn't stop when a traffic light turned yellow as I was turning left (this isn't true - I had a friend in the front passenger seat who does NOT drink at all and he also saw that the light was green when I turned left). He had another officer with him. Is there a reasonable chance that I can claim that this was an illegal stop and ask that the case be dismissed? THis basically becomes a case of the credibility of 2 officers vs 2 civilians. Whose credibilty is given more value in such situations? Does the fact that I'm an engineer with a clean record so far give me any more credibility than the cops in the eyes of the judge or jury?

2. He asked me to do sobriety tests. During one of the tests he did - the light test - he kept moving the pen to extremes beyond my visual field (for example, to my extreme left where I could not even see the pen). THis is a test where I'm supposed to keep looking at (following) the pen as he moves it around. He obviously can't expect me to look at it if he moves it out of sight. What are the chances of me claiming that he did the sobriety tests
wrong and so the case should be dismissed?