Dog killed while at daycare, civil action lawsuit?

Chloe Lawler

Jurisdiction
Maryland
Hello, I'm looking for some advice. I am a nurse and while I was at work yesterday, I received a call from the daycare provider, where both of my dogs were being cared for. The lady had said I needed to get there ASAP. My dog had dug a hole in the yard and ran into the highway, was hit and killed. This was her first day at this daycare. The lady was very unsure of the situation and said that she did not notice Molly was gone until it was too late. I have been researching and see that this is considered negligence on the business owners part. This dog was an ESA and I am in complete shock about the situation. I am looking to have this issue not occur to other owners because it is absolutely heartbreaking. I don't know where to even start to file anything or where to look. Suggestions? Thanks in advance.

I'm sorry for the loss of your dog. Did you inform the provider that your dog had a propensity to dig under fences?

Based only on what you have provided there does not seem to be any negligence. I don't see that you have anything to take over.
Was there any contract? Was the dog supposed to be caged or leashed? Were special arrangements made that were not followed?

I'm very sorry to hear about the loss of your emotional support dog. I can certainly understand how terrible you must feel.

In summary, what you describe might be considered negligence but answers to these types of questions are fact specific to your unique set of facts and circumstances.