Disqualifying Father as Guardian

Status
Not open for further replies.

momjd

I am a newly admitted Florida attorney. A friend has come to me to draft a will making her sister the guardian of her 3 year old daughter. The baby's father (to whom my friend was never married) has not seen the child since she was 3 weeks old, nor has he paid any child support although ordered to do so. My friend has also had numerous restraining orders filed against father. She is afraid that if she dies, the father will reenter the picture to solely gain control of my friend's life insurance proceeds which is to benefit the baby. Is there a procedure in Florida to terminate father's parental rights now so he doesn't claim an interest in the child in the event the mother dies? Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
I am a newly admitted Florida attorney. A friend has come to me to draft a will making her sister the guardian of her 3 year old daughter. The baby's father (to whom my friend was never married) has not seen the child since she was 3 weeks old, nor has he paid any child support although ordered to do so. My friend has also had numerous restraining orders filed against father. She is afraid that if she dies, the father will reenter the picture to solely gain control of my friend's life insurance proceeds which is to benefit the baby. Is there a procedure in Florida to terminate father's parental rights now so he doesn't claim an interest in the child in the event the mother dies? Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.
This is more of a family law question and you should speak to an attorney in that area. You probably want to discuss "abandonment" whereby in certain circumstances such as the ones you mention, you can petition the court to terminate parental rights.