DID NOT SIGN THE LEASE! Being sued

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carm382

Here's the low down:

I'm a 24-year-old college student who lives in SC and was moving to TN to go to school. 2 friends (who are twin sisters) lived there already and offered for us all to get a house together. I still lived in SC at the time the lease was signed so my NAME is on the lease, but my signature was NOT.

3 months later, I found out I couldn't go to school in TN because my student loans were only valid in SC and ran out in 2012, so I had to move back. I gave notice, as well as paid for 2 months in advance, when I left.

The girls decide that was not fair and said I should pay the remainder of the lease because that was the deal. They have hired an attourney now who tells them they will definately win this case. They say they have "proof I lived there" (which is true, but irrelevant since I paid my part while I was there) and she says she has "printed out text messages" saying that I agreed to pay the remainder of the lease (which is completely false - and those messages could have been altered once printed).

There were no witnesses to the "verbal agreement" that I supposedly gave (other than the twin sisters) so my question is what legal grounds do they have to sue me upon?

They have a pretty good case since your name was listed as a tenant on the lease.

On the other hand, they are under an obligation to find another roommate to take your place. They can't sit back and simply assume you'll be paying until the lease would normally end. As a very general rule, the court would give them a couple of months to find someone to take over your portion of the lease. This would coincide with the two months advance rent you paid.

Gail

Okay...?