Fraud, Embezzlement, Bad Checks Detective asked me to turn myself in but wont tell me my charges

Status
Not open for further replies.

ifkdup

Quick run down...

I am a contractor in california, my license expired last year. I did a job in march where i accepted a 1500$ check, 900$ to pay for materials, and $600 as the remainder to a previous job i completed for the same customer.

Do to a fallout I walked away from job. The customer still owes me money on another job refused to pay so I walked out. Nothing was written on contract other than the first job I did which was completed and accepted.

A month later I two detectives show up and say that stuff was reported missing. I have been in this trade for 15 years, 20,000 houses I have entered and never been accused of theft. I let them in to search my house and car. They asked me to "come down to the station to take a lie detector test". I said no.

A week later a detective from another department calls meand leaves a message asking me to come in and talk to him. I told him I was advised by an attorney to not answer any questions. He then called me a week later and said I needed to turn myself in. I think he can arrest me for contracting with an expired license and excessive deposit.

When I asked what I was being charged with he said they didn't know yet until I came in and "clarified" some things.....I told him I would be in the next day at 10am. He then said it would give him something to think about if I just answered 1 question...."what did you do with the 1500 check....use it for bills? use it to fix your car? cmon just tell me? I said I used for material and payment on a previous job (again no contract written). That was the end of the conversation, he would see me tomorrow.