Dealership wanting additional $1000 after sale due to New Grad Program/their error!

Status
Not open for further replies.

EARN

Hello,

I purchased a 2012 Toyota one month ago. As a new grad, I was told that I qualified for the Toyota College Graduate Finance Program, a rebate of $1000. They asked for proof of graduation, which I gave them.

Today, I received a call, stating that they need proof of my employment for the program. Apparently, this is one of the stipulations of the rebate, but this was never mentioned to me. Had I known, I would have likely turned down the rebate and the sale.

Can they come to me at a later date and ask for additional information? I do not believe I was properly informed. Or maybe due diligence was not performed on their part before the sale. It is their job, not mine, to determine eligibility.

Either way, It is not my opinion that I have a legal responsibility to fork over another $1000. Thoughts??

They can ask, but unless you agree parties are bound to the existing contract.
Tell them no, or even better don't speak to them at all. Pay your bill as agreed and move on.

Also check your contract for a clause which allows for the dealer to cancel it within a specified time after the sale. If it has been over a month then that period has likely expired, otherwise they could potentially take the car back. I doubt they would do that over an issue like this though. That clause has more to do with financing.

Yes, one would need to prove employment before receiving any loan. I suggest you read your contract. There is a clause (or clauses) that spell out what you must provide (and/or do), in order to receive any loan.

Sent from my iPad3 using Tapatalk HD

Do you by chance actually qualify?

Making the grade: How to qualify
To qualify for the rebate, you'll need to meet the following graduation, employment, insurance and credit criteria requirements.

Earn your degree. To take advantage of the program, you must meet one of the following: