Cyber Theft, Destruction of Property & Invasion of Privacy

Status
Not open for further replies.

u7u7e

My jurisdiction is: Los Angeles, California

An individual has hacked into my personal non-work laptop loaded it with spyware of the most invasive nature. It is loaded to the hilt with VNC software, Web server software, extraneous boot-sector scripts that can't be eliminated with reformatting and designate the specified individual (the hacker) with supreme authority over the computer, shadow copying and keystroke software, encryption software, and possibly others - as if that isn't enough of a violation already.

This individual is a sophisticated guy who undoubtedly implemented a very calculated strategy to capture every ounce of personal data imaginable. I am certain I know who did it and why. We worked together and he was my boss. I worked in finance at a hedge fund. And, yes, we did in fact go under this year, as did many firms, and I was let go in late November due to losses that resulted in the firm ceasing to exist.

No one has ever had physical possession of my unlocked and turned on computer besides me and my ex-boss (only on 1 occasion - did I lend it to him for 10 or 20 minutes). On a few occasions, I left it unattended for maybe 30 min max in our office, but it is password protected.

This individual was arrested as a boy for hacking. Now, he is in his mid 20s, and ran our firm and managed the business network. It goes unsaid that he has exhaustive knowledge of networking, information technology, and cyberspace.