Student Loans Co- Signer Fraud

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dre71

Co-Signer Fraud!

In 2007, I completed my undergraduate degree, seeking entrance in a online program. That completed in 18mts and once finished, I would have so many hours applied to my doctrine. While in undergrad, I used grants, scholarships, and government issued loans. During this time my husband and I worked for the same fast food chain. He was a general manager, and I was a intern for their HR department. My husband was fired and because of con-flit of interest they also terminated me. During this time frame, we were moving and trying to find a suitable fit within our time frame, we had been renting a home for 7 years and the owners wanted to sell it. So we had to be out. We had no extra money and no resources. So, I thought that maybe my finical aid disbursement would happen before we had to move. Unfortunately for me, because this was my first semester in this program , my disbursement would be issued three weeks after classes to ensure my enrollment. I applied for some private loans and was turned down based on my credit and my work history. I had to do something, so I asked my mother, father, and aunt. My mother tried but she had to much credit towards her debt to ratio, my father's new wife didn't feel comfortable and so he said no. Lastly, I asked my aunt. I wrote her a letter explaining my situation and that I needed to have a stable foundation around me to focus and try and get a job. She said let me think on it. The next day my aunt called my mother and said yes. Then she wanted to know about the lender. I called my school and requested information from my finical aid advisor and she gave me this reference. She explained how it worked and that a lot of students had been using them. I went online look them up did a little research and decided it was ok. I did an application for the private loan solely, and it returned conditionally approved. However, I needed a co- signer. So