Business Contracts Closing A Business But Keeping Second One Open

Status
Not open for further replies.

felixr

Hi. Well i have been running a Business for a few years now, and is not going very well I am behind rent (a few months) and I still have 2 plus years on the contract/lease agreement. I got a call from the Landlord a couple of days ago saying to pay up all the behind rent or he will kick me out of there.

In the other hand I have another Business in another city under the same county with a different Landlord. The Landlord that told me to pay up or I am getting kicked out told me that he would go after me and I will loose my other business as well. Can he do that even knowing that he is not the landlord? Or he said it because he can put a judgment onto my other business. What are my options here.

Thanks in advance,
Charly

If you owe money he may be able to get a judgment against you. He won't be able to do much of anything to effect the other business.
The comment was probably intended to mean that he knows you have another source of income.

If you owe money he may be able to get a judgment against you. He won't be able to do much of anything to effect the other business.
The comment was probably intended to mean that he knows you have another source of income.

Thanks for your reply. Yes he knows regarding my other business. The exact words he said that "he will come after me and make me loose my other business". Now, is the Judgment against myself or the business? And also what is A judgment and how is that apply against me.

Thanks again,
Charly

A judgment against you is essentially an order from the court that you pay someone a certain amount of money. He will sue you, the tenant, not the business, although the money would essentially come from the same place.