Other Criminal Charges & Offenses Class B misdemeanor (interference)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janedoe777

I was arrested for "interference with police activity". An acquaintance was getting arrested outside a bar, because the bartender called the police on her. I went to ask them where she was going, because her husband was going to meet up with us. I had never been in that town before and wanted to let her husband know where they were taking her. As I walked up to the police, at least 4 officers surrounded me and one yelled at the top of his lungs, "interference"... I was hand cuffed and placed in the back of a patrol car. I had no clue why! I'm 39 years old and have never been in trouble, safe a few speeding tickets. I have a college degree and a great career. I was a SGT in the US Army, serving 2 tours in Iraq. I have NO clue what to do when I appear in court, as I was given a court date... My friend got a class C misdemeanor for public intoxication and my offense was worse, class B. What should I do? Present my case alone at court or hire an attorney? Does this merit jail time?