Caught shoplifting No police

Angie_kinmel

Jurisdiction
New York
Hello,

I was caught shoplifting today at a department store and just as I was leaving the usual procedure happened; to men approached me by both sides and told me to come with them. They took me to a small interrogation room and a bunch of other employees were in there watching me. I immediately started hyperventilating and crying because I was terrified and have extreme anxiety. The employee was very kind and told me it was going to be alright as I blubbered things such as "I've never done this before" and was shaking a ton. He told me to empty my pockets and I handed back all the makeup items that I had taken (removed from packaging) and he told me "don't worry we aren't gonna call the police, you'll be out in five minutes you just have to sign some things." They also asked for my ID but I had absolutely no ID on me and they seemed disappointed. I wrote down my phone number and address and signed something but I was too distressed to read what they said they were mostly blank papers just asking for the date. The only information they gathered from me was my name and my phone number and my address, no proof of identification however. The man took a picture of me with his phone, and they told me I could not return to this specific store for one year. He also said specifically "you're not going to get anything in the mail." Can I expect any further consequences?

Further consequences depend on how intimidated you are, but there do not have to be any.
At this point it is extremely unlikely you will ever be contacted by law enforcement or face any criminal action regarding this.
You were told there will be nothing further so just wait and see. Typically a letter will arrive asking you to pay a few hundred dollars as a penalty.