Carmax bought leased car then claimed there's $19K unpaid balance

doanthaitu

Jurisdiction
California
I want to express my gratitude in advance to anyone who will contribute their help.

I live in Southern California, Orange County.

This is my first time leasing a car and also my first experience with Carmax. I came to them because they advertise that they will make our buying/selling car experience much easier.

My lease was 3 years, but I sold it to them at year 2. They made me wait for 2 hours because they needed to contact Audi Financial to obtain payoff info. When I asked why it took so long they told me they need to verify by phone AND by fax.

When they done, they offer to by my car for $30,000 and the payoff was around $12,000 then they cut me a check for $18,000. I signed the contract, deposit the check, payoff my credit cards, get another car, pay personal loans....

They called me in about 2 weeks and told me they made a mistake and I now owe them $16,000. I was shocked, how can they made this kind of mistake? I mean both Carmax and Audi, this wasn't the first time they do transaction like this, and they did verify by phone and fax, how could this be? I took my car there because they advertise it will be easier, but this is too much hassle.

Now they sue me, I answer to the complain, show up for case management.. I just receive Request for Admission and Request for Production.

Request for Production:

1. Produce YOUR copy of the CONTRACT
2. Produce all DOCUMENTS relating to any payments made by YOU on the CONTRACT
3. Produce all DOCUMENTS between YOU and PLAINTIFF relating to CONTRACT between November 1, 2014 and the Present.
4. Produce all DOCUMENTS which evidences payments made to PLAINTIFF pursuant to the terms and conditions of CONTRACT.
5. Produce all DOCUMENTS that YOU relied, are relying, or will rely upon for YOUR Statue of Frauds Affirmative Defense as alleged in ANSWER TO COMPLAINT to PLAINTIFF'S COMPLAINT.