Cannot locate all heirs

Status
Not open for further replies.

sariejack

Property is located in Texas.

Fred put in an offer on a house, cash, as-is. The owner of the house is in the hospital so Fred's realtor has been dealing with the owner's wife. The owner bought out his siblings a while back but now, even though they are paid off, our realtor says the owner needs to find these siblings in order to sign the paperwork.

The problem is that the siblings have either passed away or cannot be located. With the owner in the hospital, his wife is trying to find everyone but obviously her hands are a little full right now.

Is there any way for them to sell the property to Fred with a special kind of deed? (I don't understand why they need the additional signatures if the owner bought out his siblings several years back.)

OP, I suggest you speak with a local attorney about this.
I'm a Texas lawyer, but real estate is not my area of expertise.
I do seem to recall, that the hoops being placed in front of you aren't required.
Realators aren't attorneys, but often attempt to practice law.
They do so poorly and inadequately.
Therefore, spend $500 and seek a legal opinion.
One caution, even though Fred may have paid his siblings, he may not have properly recorded said sale, and updated the county recorder's office.
In essence, I suspect there could be more than one name (Fred's) on the deed.
If that is the case, you might not want to pursue this deal.
Getting proof of the sale, having a dead person's name removed from a deed, very time consuming and costly.
There are plenty other homes on the market.

Finally, have YOU done your OWN title search?

I always do my own.

Trust, but verify covertly.

In other words, when MY money (or my clients' money) is on the table, I always go one step more in doing my due diligence.

Hi army_judge--

Thanks for responding. To answer your questions:

Realtor did title search and found that the deed to the house has several people listed: