K Visa Canadian married to American - Border Problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

cjurl

I am a American graduate student in Pennsylvania, married to a Canadian citizen who is pursuing doctoral studies in Canada. Because of our studies, neither of is presently able to seek permanent residency in the others' home country. Obviously, it is nonetheless our desire to spend as much time as possible together. While I spent much of the summer in Canada, for the next nine months it will be easier for my wife to visit me here since she has fewer classroom obligations. Moreover, we are expecting a child in early March and hope to be able to do so in the US (because I must be here to teach and attend classes, while she gets maternity leave).

The problem is that it is becoming increasingly difficult for my wife to cross the border. This summer she accompanied me to the States for 5 days to help me move my things into storage, and we, stupidly, brought a few boxes of her winter things, since we knew she would be spending quite a bit of time here this year. The border guard told us that, though he believed our story, it did not LOOK like we were only going to be staying for 5 days (and we couldn't disagree!). He turned us away, with the provision that my wife return with further documentation of her ties to Canada (a lease, work contract, phone bill in her name, etc), and advised us to seek legal counsel (which we did). We took the boxes back to Canada and returned to the US for the 5 days with no problems.