can you get a DBA or LLC without physical location?

techwiz44

Jurisdiction
Other
I don't know if this is a legal issue, a taxation issue, or a general accounting issue.

From what I can tell most city, county, and state governments have a mentality that has never left the early 1900 pony express time period. Everything seems to be designed for brick-and-mortar.

Let me explain: I am a IT computer consultant/programmer/all-around geek. I can work anywhere that has access to the Internet. I could live on a sailboat, a houseboat, or a motor home. I can provide professional services from a public park picnic table that's covered by Wi-Fi (of course it would be inside an encrypted VPN tunnel). My physical location can change daily. I offer my services to my existing and new clientele and they pay me for my knowledge and experience and problem solving abilities. All I need to conduct business is an Internet connection and a cell phone. And I'm finding that most of my clients prefer to receive updates by email so I don't even need the cell phone most of the time.

Let's say my home office is in a suburb of Chicago (it isn't really), years ago I paid the local County officials a filing fee for a DBA [doing business as-- assumed name] license. This allowed me to go to a bank and open up a business checking account where I could deposit payments from my customers. As the years progressed I found I needed the ability to accept credit card payments. This need is easily solved with the square card reader. I send my customer an online invoice and the money just appears in my bank account. I can receive a check and deposit it through the ATM. With today's banking system you can pull out your smart phone and take a copy of the check and email it to make a deposit.

I pay all my bills online so I'm not tied to any brick-and-mortar. So what's the point of this diatribe?