Consumer Fraud Bought a misrepresented item

Status
Not open for further replies.

swilliams

About a week and a half ago I bought a sewing machine from Craigslist. I am brand new to sewing so I didn't want to pay a lot of money for a sewing machine. I just wanted something basic and inexpensive, since my projects are very basic as well. (Note: I know that Craigslist is notorious for scammers; I'm not wanting to be told to NOT use Craigslist, I am just wanting to know what to do about this situation.) I emailed the poster one night, and the poster replied that they still had the machine, it is in great working order and to call them the next day to make arrangements. I should add that the email was sent from what appeared to be a business name, "Thrifty Village." I called her the next day, and we actually played phone tag to find a good time to pick it up. One of the times I tried to call her, she must have accidentally answered unknowingly, and I kept saying, "Hello?" When I finally heard her talking, I listened- only to find out that she wasn't talking to me. What I heard her say was, "No, I don't think they'll notice" amongst other background noise. I thought that sounded fishy, but I chose to believe that she wasn't talking about us and the machine.

So I go to her house, and she shows me the machine. I tell her I want to make sure it's working, so she gets it out of the box and plugs it in. I press on the pedal and see that the needle moves up and down. Looks good to me! So I give her $85 and go home with the machine.