babysitting for two sisters

Status
Not open for further replies.

chatwuann

I have been babysitting for two sisters for the past three years. Sister no. 1 I lived with for close to two years give or take a couple of months and owns a business. Sister no. 2 works in a flower shop and has a young child who is now three. Tending for sister no. 1 ended kind of on a bad note and I thought I could not be around her and her kids because it would be too painful and for a time I avoided her and her family. I had a few minutes conversation with sister no. 2 about her schedule but nothing indepth and no conditions were talked about. She doesn't give me a wage nor did she hire me. Sister no. 2 has had to make arrangements from time to time when my days up at sister no. 1 were in conflict and it has been with a mother-inlaw,sister-in-law, neighbor, and sometimes our mother who is my neices grandmother. That didn't happen very much comparitively to the times sister no. 2 didn't have to make other arrangements. There was a few minutes conversation with sister no. 2 before when I was thinking about tending for her and conversations with my mom about tending for sister no. 2 but no conditions were set. I never promised sister no. 2 that I would be available to tend for her whenever she worked. Does the few minutes conversation I had with sister no. 2 constitute a verbal or oral agreement? I am asking this because my parents are trying to get me to just babysit for sister no. 2 and only for sister no. 1 if sister no. doesn't need me. I am 46 years old am mildly mentally disabled and my dad is my legal guardian. I like tending for sister no. 1 more than sister no. 2 whose children I have had little contact with over the years. Hope some legal professional can sort this out for me. :)

It doesn't sound like you have a verbal contract.