1. Free Legal Help, Legal Forms and Lawyers. TheLaw.com has been providing free legal assistance online since 1995. Our most popular destinations for legal help are below. It only takes a minute to join our legal community!

    Dismiss Notice

Arson v Reckless Burning Burglary, Arson, Home Invasion

Discussion in 'Criminal Charges' started by LuiePL, Aug 10, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LuiePL

    LuiePL Law Topic Starter New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was wondering what the difference in sentencing, and the difference in severity between the two are. This is mainly for Connecticut law, but any would be sufficient. I heard one was three years maximum, and the other was 10, but I wasn't sure which was which, and how the decisions usually came about.

    Thank you,
    -Luie-
     
  2. Michael Wechsler

    Michael Wechsler Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,980
    Likes Received:
    529
    Trophy Points:
    113

    I could be wrong, but I believe that Connecticut has 3 degrees of arson crimes and one reckless burning statute, which is a class D felony. A class D felony ranges from 1 to 5 years imprisionment and up to a $5,000 fine. Arson in the first degree is a class A felony, second is B, third is C. Class A may provide for imprisionment of 10-25 years and $20,000 fine, class B 1-20 years and $15,000 fine, class C 1-10 years and $10,000 fine. I'm assuming nobody was killed.

    The statutes for arson and reckless burning in CT are in the CT Penal Code and are as follows and can look them up to verify the accuracy of the above.

    53a-111 Arson in the First Degree
    53a-112 Arson in the Second Degree
    53a-113 Arson in the Third Degree
    53a-114 Reckless Burning
     

Share This Page

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.