7am-9am No Left Turn Violation GEORGIA

Status
Not open for further replies.

juanjara

Hello!

Everyone seems really helpful on this forum so I thought I'd give it a shot with my questions, and hopefully someone can help.

Ok, I'm a Florida Resident who sometimes works in Atlanta, Georgia. I was driving in an unfamiliar area and because my GPS told me and there were no cars incoming (I was in the left hand turn lane), I turned left without looking at the sign above me that said no turn 7am-9am, so there was a cop waiting on foot down the road getting one person after the other for this violation. To make matters worse, I did not have my proof of insurance on me (it was back in Florida) so I got another ticket for that and now I have to go to court for these.

I have a clean driving record (I am 24 and have never even been pulled over and I've been driving since I was 15). I will be in town for my court date on Sep. 4 but I will be in Florida from there on out so making two separate apperances is not really option (I'd have to hire a lawyer or buy a $300 plane ticket - quickly seraching for a lawyer online it seems like it will be at least $500 for this). What do you recommend I do?

I was thinking of showing up with my proof of valid insurance - will the judge dimiss the ticket or at least sevearly reduce it? And for the no left-hand turn, what is my best plea? Should I plea not guilty? or what do you recommend? This is a $150 ticket with 3 points on my license and I'd like to avoid this if I can. Keep in mind it is most feasible for me to show up and get everything overwith in 1 showing as I'll be back in Florida after my September 4th court date. Let me know and thanks!

If you're smart,you could hire a lawyer and avoid the trip.
The lawyer can likely clear up the no insurance nonsense.

Were you driving a rental car, or your personal vehicle?
The rental car was properly insured. The contract was all that needed to be shown.