Property Invasion, Damages, Trespass 4th Amendment Applicable?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KMB_

A friend of my was recently arrested in Virginia for the manufacture of marijuana(VA 18.2-248.1) however the circumstances in which the arrest was made seemed to me to be in violation of the fourth amendment however I am not a lawyer myself so I thought to ask the greater legal community. The events leading to his arrest are as follows: On November 25th the police were called in relation to a break in where a suspect had entered through a ground floor window and stolen items from students that had been out on Thanksgiving break at an appartment complex. While on foot patrol of the complex the officer noticed an open bedroom window(bedroom of the defendent). This window was cracked open approximately 6 inches and had a metal bar securing it from opening any farther. There was also an opaque curtain covering the window to ensure no one could see inside. For some reason there was a screwdriver laying on the window ledge and the police officer noted cracked plaster. The defendent is a handy man of sorts and regularly leaves tools laying around. The defendant was unaware of any cracked plaster however the building is old and it would not be uncomprehensible for plaster to be on the window ledge. In any event the officer checked that all of the other entrances were locked and then proceded to crawling through the cracked window. It is not known to the defendant how the officer removed the metal bar securing the window from opening farther. A "protective sweep" was then made by the officer and during the course of this "protective sweep" the officer noted a closet had been modified with a hardboard wall, and a hinged door, with aluminum foil and air vents protruding from it. The sound of forced air was heard and an odor similiar to the smell of marijuana pipe water(bong water) filled the air.(the defendant as well as his roomates informed me that no smell was ever pr