1. Free Legal Help, Legal Forms and Lawyers. TheLaw.com has been providing free legal assistance online since 1995. Our most popular destinations for legal help are below. It only takes a minute to join our legal community!

    Dismiss Notice

30 Day Notice Obligation (MT)

Discussion in 'Rental Agreements & Subleases' started by MDW2019, Jun 19, 2019.

  1. MDW2019

    MDW2019 Law Topic Starter New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Jurisdiction:
    Montana
    Hello,

    I am a tenant in Montana. I have a one-year lease on my apartment, which ends June 30th. I do not intend to renew the lease and will move out on the 30th. I gave late notice of my impending move, and was told that I will owe up to 30 days rent since I failed to give a 30 day notice, even though the lease expires on the 30th.

    My question is this: since the contract ends on the 30th and I have not requested or agreed to go to a month to month arrangement following the 30th, am I still obligated to make the 30 days notice and/or pay the remaining 30 day period if the unit is not rented? I have attached an image of the exact language from my lease below.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Zigner

    Zigner Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    314
    Trophy Points:
    63

    The month-to-month arrangement is automatic unless you give proper notice. I would say that, yes, you owe the 30 days.
     
  3. zddoodah

    zddoodah Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,593
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83

    When you say that you "failed to give a 30 day notice," does that mean that you still haven't informed your landlord of your intent to move out? If not, when did you give notice of your intent to move out? If, for example, you gave notice on June 5, then you should only owe rent through July 5.
     
  4. Zigner

    Zigner Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    314
    Trophy Points:
    63

    Are you sure that's the case in Montana? Some states operate that way (proration [like mine]), while others (the majority) say that if you stay for any portion of the new rental period, you are responsible for the full amount for that rental period.
     
  5. MDW2019

    MDW2019 Law Topic Starter New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I gave notice today, so 30 days would be until July 19. That's on me and I acknowledge I was late with notice.

    My curiosity is whether I would still be obligated to pay after June 30, since the lease expires on that date and I am vacating the building before then. I will not be there during the month to month period and have not requested such.

    It sounds like I do owe the 30 day period rent, though. I appreciate the insight.
     
  6. Zigner

    Zigner Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    314
    Trophy Points:
    63

    It's debatable whether you would have to pay the full 30 days or only 19 days. You might want to reach out with a phone call to a local attorney who might answer that question over the phone. (*MIGHT*)


    EDIT: Yes, the month-to-month clause becomes effective because you failed to give proper notice.
     
  7. MDW2019

    MDW2019 Law Topic Starter New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That answers my question. Thank you!
     
  8. zddoodah

    zddoodah Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,593
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83

    No, but the statute cited in the lease didn't say otherwise and I have no reason to believe it's not the case.

    You don't have any good argument that you're not on the hook through July 19 (and, as "Zigner" noted, there may be an argument that you're on the hook through the end of July). The only way you could get off the hook earlier is if the landlord can reasonably get a new tenant in the unit before then.

    If I were you, I'd offer to pay through 7/19 and, if I were the landlord, I'd accept that. If I were you, I'd also do my damndest to make sure the place is in pristine condition at the time of move out so that the landlord doesn't have a reason to take deductions from the security deposit.
     
  9. mightymoose

    mightymoose Moderator

    Messages:
    10,182
    Likes Received:
    1,477
    Trophy Points:
    113

    I would expect you to pay July rent in full at the start of the month. When you move out you should receive a prorated portion of rent back with your deposit.
     
  10. adjusterjack

    adjusterjack Super Moderator

    Messages:
    6,425
    Likes Received:
    1,357
    Trophy Points:
    113

    I think not.

    The lease did not specify that notice of a full rental period is required and 70-24-441. Termination by landlord or tenant (2) and (3) supports the pro-rating through July 19.

    2017 Montana Code Annotated :: TITLE 70. PROPERTY :: CHAPTER 24. RESIDENTIAL LANDLORD AND TENANT ACT OF 1977 :: Part 4. Remedies :: 70-24-441. Termination by landlord or tenant

    If rent is due on July 1, the tenant need only pay for 19 days, not the whole month.
     
    Zigner likes this.
  11. Zigner

    Zigner Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    314
    Trophy Points:
    63

    Thanks for finding that :)
     
  12. adjusterjack

    adjusterjack Super Moderator

    Messages:
    6,425
    Likes Received:
    1,357
    Trophy Points:
    113

    You're welcome.

    My pleasure.
     

Share This Page