Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft 18, California, shoplifting at my university bookstore

Status
Not open for further replies.

finesse

Today I was cited for shoplifting textbooks at my college. I am a sophomore honors student that is currently taking 17 units and working a part-time job to support myself with car insurance, gas, food, tuition, books, etc. Never had any marks on my record, never been arrested or had to be at court, never even had a traffic violation. With this said, I know my actions are unjustifiable and that due process is necessary.

Onto why I am here. I have never been in front of a school committee panel or at a court hearing. The latter is what concerns me most. I know I will be notified from my school regarding my committee meeting date, but I am not so sure how the procedure goes for court hearings. Will I receive a mail letter? A phone call? Will I need a lawyer (I plan to plead guilty if it will lessen my sentence)? Anything will help, regardless if it is about court hearings or school committee meetings. And yes, I know I messed up today. :(

Also, could I beg my school board to not press charges? My hearing is on November 1st (denoted on the slip the officer gave me), and my board meeting should be within 2 weeks.

Thanks for any advice.

Sorry if there is a rule on double-posting, but I forgot to mention that I heard something about a dollar amount difference between a misdemeanor and a violation. The price of the 2 books I stole were around a combined 100 dollars.

Admin said:
Start calling Lawyers many offer free consultations. Ask these lawyers about Diversion as plea option
Thanks, I will check this out. I was cited today, and given a copy of a report that says my hearing is on November 1st. Will they send me a mail letter or a telephone call? If so, what is a rough timeline I can expect this to arrive? Reason I am asking is because I still live with my parents and there is no way I can do this to them.

Admin said: