Wrongful Termination

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chefguy

Dear Lawyers,

I have been working at a restaurant for the past 4 years. Times have been good, times have been tough (as in any job). I went into work this monday, November 9th, 2009. I was pulled in to the office, only to hear my boss tell me that "It is time that we part ways."

Now in some circumstances I can understand how this may not be misunderstood. However, I have a good track record with the company. I have ZERO write ups, and no documentation of unprofessionalism, being late or noneffective and for other reasons. Sometimes problems may occur in the restaurant business, however the rare times that they have occurred, they also have been resolved and the source of the problem has been fixed.

While talking with my boss after the "shocking" news of being let go, I asked why. He responded with "If you really want to know." and I said, "I believe I have every right to know." Shortly after he looked at his computer, stared down at his desk in silence searching for an answer. He told me that "there hasnt been one single instance that caused this." I then told him how I believe I was a good employee and how I believe that I have done my job to the requirements and beyond. He then AGREED with me. That I was a loyal employee and that I have done my job the way it was expected. That is when I started asking the question, "then why am i getting fired?". He again had no response. And told him that I do my job just as good if not better than anyone else, which he ALSO agreed with. And finally I left after at least 30 minutes of trying to get an answer when i realized that there was no apparent reason for my termination.

Do I have a case with the Better Business Bureau, to collect severance pay? or any sort of compensation at all? I feel that I have been wrongfully terminated, and searching for answers and options. Please help!

Thank you for your time!