Writ of Execution on Bank Account

Status
Not open for further replies.

DavefromCali

My jurisdiction is: California

Hi there!!

I need your advice. Last week a local Sheriff delivered a copy of Writ of Execution to have my bank account frozen (and so far they've withdrawn only a small amount from my checking account ). What are my options at this point? What it is the worst that could happen? Is it too late now to pursue a debt settlement to lower the debt by 50- 60% with the plaintiff? I've failed to answer the plaintiff's claim within the time allowed by law, and the court entered a DEFAULT JUDGMENT against me. The sum of the small claim is $2010.00 from an old credit card. I am a college student and still live with parents. Please Advise.

-Dave
California

You can still settle the outstanding debt for less than the amount owed with the creditor - that's up to them. The real question is why they would have incentive to lower your debt by 50% and take a loss, especially after they have already started withdrawing money from your bank account. I don't know why you blew off the case since now you are subject to actual costs - in court and for execution fees. You can certainly try to reduce the debt but you'll probably need to pay that settlement amount quickly.

Thank you!!

First thing in the morning I am sending to the Court a petition to vacate judgment ( form sc135 in CA). Do you think I stand a chance to get the default judgment vacated since I was never told when/where the hearing took place? Is this a good call? If I get the judgment vacated, what should I do next? Thanks, Mr. the-law-professor !!!

PS: Just wanted to say how much they've withdrawn from my account: $3.00..would this fact give me more leverage to negotiate and lower the debt..... but regardless of the small amount of dollars, they have a default judgment against me, so they can go after any bank account...

Last edited: