who pays for a helper

dondy

Jurisdiction
Indiana
I am an auto body repair tech. My pay is by commission or flat rate. My manager is now wanting to make me take on a helper (apprentice) that will remove percentage of hours from the pay that I turn in a day. I have been made to do this in the past and could not understand how it can be legal to take my pay to pay someone else. If I turn 80 hrs, not worked 80 hrs, they will remove time from that to pay for this person. This person is someone who is trying to learn the trade. I'm the one teaching and showing this person and paying for their pay. Is it legal for me to have to pay for this. Time is lost in the teaching and showing of things. More in the beginning than later. Just when you start to make a little from this. They want to take them to be a lower wage bodyman so they can profit from it.

Last edited:
Why worry about the legalities of such an arrangement?
It's certainly unethical, in my view.
If I were you I'd take my tools, knowledge, and skills to another employer.
Why?
Because after you train the newbie, you're probably going to be fired anyway.

The practice is probably illegal, and you'll never get enough to compensate you for the loss of your dignity.

What your employer is doing to you is shameful, distasteful, disrespectful, disgraceful, and pitiful.

Your employer is effectively pimping you and the newbie.

It is actually a fairly common practice and the theory is that you will be booking more hours because of this person's help doing the easy stuff, which frees your time to book more hours on the harder stuff. Whether it really works out that way in reality remains to be seen. I recently had a technician who wanted to enter into this type of arrangement with his son. I asked someone to research the legality but he did not get back with me yet. You can probably call the department of labor.

Why worry about the legalities of such an arrangement?
It's certainly unethical, in my view.