What to Do After Getting Rear-Ended – California San Jose

Status
Not open for further replies.

sunandoghosh

What to Do After Getting Rear-Ended – California San Jose
Yesterday (17 March) late evening a car rear ended me while I was stopped at a red light at an intersection. There were some minor damages at the back of the car. This is a rental car I have taken from avis. Nobody was hurt and the driver admitted mistake to me.

I did not have much idea as to what should have been done then as this was first experience of this kind for me. So I called 911 but the operator refused to send any cops as she said 1. There was no injury 2. There was no traffic block.
I still requested her to send someone but she said I need to call my insurance. That's it.
So I took the name, phone number, license number and Insurance number of the other person.
I plan to call insurance company tomorrow.

Few Questions:
Pls answer as I am new to whole process:

1. What is the recommended process to follow? Did I follow correct steps?
2. I am going to call Insurance Company tomorrow? What else do I need to do?
3. I wonder why the 911 did not send cops although I requested so many times?

Pls share your experience and advice kindly.
Thank You

Report the matter to your insurance company and follow their instructions.
If you feel pain tomorrow, see a physician or go to the ER.
Otherwise, if Yiyre well, nothing more to do, but get your car repaired.
Your insurance company will tell you how to go about that.

If this is a rental car then you should report the incident to Avis. That should be the extent of your responsibilities.