What to charge for a copyright release on my art?

Jolene Clayton

Jurisdiction
Illinois
I'm an artist who's been dabbling in selling art online for a few years. I've never dealt with copyright or copyright releases; everything I sell is either a commission for personal use or sale of the object alone. About an hour ago, I received a message from someone asking me how much it would cost to buy the copyrights of a few pieces they might commission. I told them that I'm not yet sure, explaining exactly what I've just said to you guys, but I also said that I'd be willing to figure it out and return with a quote. I also asked them what they plan to do with the copyright, so I've got the following information:

- The potential client is considering a commission of a few different pieces.
- They intend to use the art for online merch, probably for an indefinite amount of time.
- If it matters, I'm already planning to charge at least $120 for each painting, copyright not included.

I've done some reading, and I know that I have several different options when drafting the copyright release. I would like a few different opinions on what would be best for me as an artist for hire and also reasonable for the client. Nothing has been set in stone; the commissioner is considering several artists besides me and only plans to order from one. Regardless of whether or not they buy my services, any knowledge I can gain from here will be super helpful because I might receive a similar request in the future. Thank you all for your time.