What the legal actions should I take as the company is not paying my outstanding salaries

Jurisdiction
Virginia
Hi the community,

I am an engineer from Bangladesh. I was working with a Virginia based LLC company remotely. After the termination of the work relationship, they are not paying my outstanding 6 weeks salaries and it's a very big amounts. As I am from Bangladesh and don't know any law of USA/Virginia, can you please guide me what legal actions should I take to get my salaries. Please help me. I am passing my bad days here.

Many Thanks in advanced,
Md Muntasir Rahman

Alas, if you are working in Bangladesh, US labor laws aren't going to apply to you and the US Department of Labor won't help you. What you end up having is a civil (contract) dispute and frankly, unless there's enough money involved to pay a lawyer to pursue it in the US courts, you may be out of luck.

I am an engineer from Bangladesh. I was working with a Virginia based LLC company remotely. After the termination of the work relationship, they are not paying my outstanding 6 weeks salaries

I'll bet you a buck and a half that the Virginia based company will take the position that you were an independent contractor and not an employee. No way to tell from your post whether that's correct. However, if it is, your recourse is a lawsuit for breach of contract.

Did you have a written contract with this company?

it's a very big amounts.

How much are you owed?

0774fc59ed669a5fc0028417b4f1a552.png

I'll bet you a buck and a half that the Virginia based company will take the position that you were an independent contractor and not an employee. No way to tell from your post whether that's correct. However, if it is, your recourse is a lawsuit for breach of contract.

Did you have a written contract with this company?
Yes, I have the NDA and they were Authorized me to work through Hubstaff | Time Tracking and Productivity Monitoring Tool