What Can I do About This Speeding Ticket?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BrittanyGulden

This morning I was issued a speeding ticket by a State Patrol Officer. I was heading East on my way to college on Highway 14. The State Patrol Officer was heading West. He noted that he clocked me at 63mph & when we passed each other, he said my speed accelerated to 64 than 65 than even 66mph. He said he "reduced my speeding ticket violation to 65mph instead of 66mph." Btw, the speed zone was 55mph.

I am very new to this, but is there anything I can do to reduce this speeding ticket? I will try to list as many things as possible below:

Anything on the paper he gave me that he could have possibly screwed up on that I can check over?
I am 19. Male.
Freshman in college
There was no body ahead of me or no body behind me when I got pulled over. I can see for miles.
I have only had 2 (if) violations in the past 3-4 yrs. TO be honest, I don't think 1 was put on my record.
The highway turned into a 4 lane 65mph zone 4-6 miles ahead

According to Minnesota, if the speed is less than 10mph over in a 55mph zone, it won't go on my record. I'm still curious on how I could reduce it?

Continuance for dismissal?

Thanks!

Yep, I am. So, what makes you think you're entitled to a reduction since this is your third violation? And by your own description were speeding?

Re-read my initial Post. Here, let me help you out:

According to Minnesota, if the speed is less than 10mph over in a 55mph zone, it won't go on my record. I'm still curious on how I could reduce it?

Continuance for dismissal?

Thanks!

Key Quote: "I'm curious on how I COULD reduce it?"

Show up for court & hopefully he doesn't show. The ticket would get dropped.

Have a mechanic check my "speed gauge" & if it's off, file for Driving with defective equipment.