Website content - legal or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Griffon

I was wondering if it is legal for websites to contain links or information on where to obtain potentially-illegal "pirated" software? If there is no such software contained on the site in question, but only links to off-site locations, is that legal? I was trying to figure out how so many sites seem to get away with such a setup.

Is a website set up like this legal or is it just that there are too many sites for the authorities to monitor? As an independent programmer, I would like to know where I stand before I start my possibly-pointless crusade against the theft of my intellectual properties.

Any information on this subject will be greatly appreciated.

-- Griffon

Originally posted by Griffon:
I was wondering if it is legal for websites to contain links or information on where to obtain potentially-illegal "pirated" software? If there is no such software contained on the site in question, but only links to off-site locations, is that legal? I was trying to figure out how so many sites seem to get away with such a setup......Is a website set up like this legal or is it just that there are too many sites for the authorities to monitor? As an independent programmer, I would like to know where I stand before I start my possibly-pointless crusade against the theft of my intellectual properties.