Veterans Compensation exclusion

Dean Faucher

Jurisdiction
Hawaii
This is the HUD Income Exclusion list. My rental manager says although I am a Veteran receiving Compensation as defined in paragraph (v) it pertains to Indians only.
Does the OR prove otherwise?

HUD Income Exclusions:
(v) Compensation received by or on behalf of a veteran for service-connected disability, death, dependency, or indemnity compensation as provided by an amendment by the Indian Veterans Housing Opportunity Act of 2010 (Pub. L. 111-269; 25 U.S.C. 4103(9)) to the definition of income applicable to programs authorized under the NativeAmerican Housing Assistance and Self-Determination Act (NAHASDA) (25 U.S.C. 4101 et seq.) and administered by the Office of Native American Programs;

This is the HUD Income Exclusion list. My rental manager says although I am a Veteran receiving Compensation as defined in paragraph (v) it pertains to Indians only.

HUD Income Exclusions:
(v) Compensation received by or on behalf of a veteran for service-connected disability, death, dependency, or indemnity compensation as provided by an amendment by the Indian Veterans Housing Opportunity Act of 2010 (Pub. L. 111-269; 25 U.S.C. 4103(9)) to the definition of income applicable to programs authorized under the NativeAmerican Housing Assistance and Self-Determination Act (NAHASDA) (25 U.S.C. 4101 et seq.) and administered by the Office of Native American Programs;

I believe your rental manager is correct. But it is a poorly written statement on HUD's part. The primary logic I'm using is that almost all of the other exclusion on the list include the U.S.C. that defines the exclusion and the only codes in that paragraph are pertaining to Indians.

HUD Income Exclusions: