Consumer Law, Warranties Verbal Contract

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rhabdullah

I work as a private promoter for local venues on the side from my primary profession. Recently I promoted a invitational step show competition in NC. One of the teams that I recruited for this competition was from NY. The 1st place cash prize for the winning fraternity & sorority in this competition was $1000. However, this team wanted to know in addition to us already paying their auto rental & hotel expenses, if we would be willing to throw in an additional $500 bonus for them if they won. I stated that we were not expecting to make a huge profit from this show, so I will have to check our budget to see if I can make any adjustments so that our profit will be large enough to cover this additional charge. I later agreed and said OK. The team did in fact win the competition, but we did not make a profit from the show. Therefore, we paid them the amount stated in the initial contract for $1000, but we did not pay out any bonuses.

The team is now telling me that they did not know that the bonus was contingent on our company making a profit. Therefore, they still were expecting to receive the additional money. I explained to them that there must have been some type of miscommunication somewhere between the two parties, because the initial verbal agreement was in fact, contingent on our company making a profit. Therefore, I figured to resolve the issue I would still issue them 1/2 of the original amount in agreement. However, when I took this matter back to the individuals that financially back my promotional business, they disagreed, and refused to issue the funds to pay this team ANY bonus. They reiterated to me that this agreement was contingent on our company making a profit, and we did not. Therefore, NO funds will be given to this team.