Consumer Law, Warranties verbal contract

Status
Not open for further replies.

softwaredev

I am a software developer that was hired by a small company to write a program for them. We had a work for hire agreement that consisted of only the first version. I wrote the program and was paid according to the terms of the agreement.
Then I was verbally told by the 2 managers of the company that I would be paid $20K for the next upgrade to the software. I was not told of specifics with regards to what the upgrades needed to be. It was pretty much left up to me since I knew the software and had good communications with all of the clients as to their needs and wants. I proceeded with the upgrades and released them to the existing client base. What I was told by management also shows up in the minutes of a company meeting held around that same time. I have been doing various upgrades for about 4 years. There is no work for hire agreement after the initial version was written.
I have decided to end my relationship with this company and have asked for my money. I have been told that since there is nothing in writing, they don't owe me a dime. "Just because it was 'mentioned' in the minutes does not make it binding."
Do they owe me they $20K and if they decide not to pay me, do I own the upgraded software?

Thanks

Last edited:
Not only is it binding, if you ever took it to court based upon the facts represented, you could very possibly obtain punitive damages and attorney's fees. A verbal contract is binding in the same way that a written contract is binding -- it is just more difficult to prove. A very important matter would be to review your original contract with them and any attorney would want to see this.