Using Photos to Teach Portrait Drawing Techniques

fide

Jurisdiction
Indiana
Thought I would be a radical and ask a question before acting.

I am an art teacher who primarily works from photographs.

I've seen many YouTube artists demonstrate "how to" draw this person and that person, always using photographs. These are often "speed drawings" that entertain and inspire more than teach.

I believe I can draw all the photographs I want for myself, or draw to teach a class. I'm fairly certain this falls under fair use, so long as I'm not trying to sell my work? I am less certain regarding the display of works or their use in promotion.

I'd like to teach online without getting into trouble. If I use an image I find online—some celebrity, a car, or a Marvel superhero—and walk through a drawing based upon that image, would this practice be protected under the fair use exemption? It is the transition from real life to work online that leaves me apprehensive.

I mention Marvel superheroes as a Staples store recently refused to make a print of a student's work that I could display at school for other students—something I've done without issue for many years. I understand Disney is especially litigious. The experience has left me questioning my limited understanding of the law.

I thank you for your time.

I'd like to teach online without getting into trouble.

I suggest you discuss your concerns with a licensed lawyer of your choice, subsequently retaining that individual or law firm at an agreed upon fee or retainer.

If you seek and act upon FREE information provided by strangers, you just might reap that which you wish to avoid.

I believe what you described is fine so long as you give credit where credit is due and aren't trying to profit from someone else's work.
I agree your best answer will come from an attorney who you can actually speak with and show what you are doing.