unpaid hours

Status
Not open for further replies.

ryanjones

I subcontracted through an agency (corp-to-corp) for hourly wages. I no longer work with this agency because they pay so late. They still owe me $20,650 and refuse to pay. I understand there are no laws to enforce a contract, unless you can afford to fight it in court. I have been to the US Labor Dept. and the California State Labor Commission, but they won't help me because I am an independent contractor. Are there alternative ways to make a former business pay what they owe without going to court? I am going to try arbitration, but I do not have a lot of money. The amount listed above is for a couple of months pay, so my resources are limited. They are in violation of my contract, but apparently that doesn't mean very much. Is there a way to mark the businesses credit or sell the debt to a collection agency without having a court order?

ryan

First, why are they refusing to pay you? Is there a dispute of some kind?

Second, for such a high debt I would think it possible that an attorney might take such a case on a partial or full contingency fee. It is quite possible that you will recover the attorney's fees as a result of this company's breach of contract. You might even be entitled to punitive damages depending upon the facts and circumstances, although this is rare unless egregious.

However, unless this company is going bankrupt, it would seem that there is a great deal we are missing here, mainly the source of the dispute. I don't think there is a way to avoid court since there is a dispute and there is no governing body that will just grant you the money. However, if you had an employment contract, arbitration might be an option set forth within the contract.

The reason for non-payment is because I left the company. I got tired of the company paying me late, so I quit. The president also stated that he will not pay because he doesn't like me.