Unequal consideration and discrimination during hiring and termination?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ratiocinate

I have been working as a part-time faculty union member for the past two years. The position was changed to a full-time position, and the hiring process opened up to the general public. I, and another part-time member at the campus, made it to the final round. The other candidate received the position, and I am being offered part-time hours for the upcoming year.

During the application process and interviews, the Dean kept telling me that he had part-time hours available for the summer and fall and invited me to meetings to talk about classes only offered to part-time faculty for the summer, but he did not invite the other candidate.

Staff have overheard that the decision for who members on the hiring committee would vote for was made before the final interview round. Also, after speaking with people who wrote the hiring policies, the hiring committee did not follow some of those policies.

Members of the hiring committee said that both candidates were equally qualified. Yet, they decided to hire the candidate that had less years of experience and no work experience in the program. Their reason was that the other candidate had more experience. When I spoke with this to HR, they would not respond to my emails.

Some faculty have expressed to me that the hiring decision might have been based on ethnicity.

The union would not assist me. Are there any legal avenues I can take?

Last edited:
Not based on what you have posted. Unless otherwise provided by contract or CBA, they are free to hire whomever they choose. They are not required to hire the person with the most years experience or who has previously worked in the program.

Do you have a valid and supportable reason to believe that your ethnicity played a roll?